Copilot brakes on MK IV

22 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum but looking to buy an MK IV or a KF 2/3. However, I'm a student pilot who wants to finish my training in my own plane , and everything for sale right now only has brakes on the pilot side , so I'll need to install copilot brakes for my instructor. How difficult would it be to source the parts for this? What about installation, does require a ton of work to retrofit on a ready-to-fly Avid? Thanks and I look forward to hearing your feedback!

Posted (edited)

It is not a big job but does require a little welding and bending. The rudder peddles have to be removed to weld the tabs for the brakes on the Avid but maybe not on the KF. Might want to make sure you have a CFI that is willing and experienced in an Avid or KF before you make up your mind, many will not. I put them in my IV for a friend that flies with me that does my flight reviews, might say something about what he thinks about my rudder skills.

Edited by Paul S

Posted

I think you should check with EAA first.  While it is legal for you to get instruction in an experimental, I don't believe you can get primary instruction in an experimental, I think you are only allowed to get transition/type specific training.

Mark

Posted (edited)

I think the rule is that you cannot rent an AB for flight instruction - AB Experimentals cannot be used for "commercial purposes" - You can use your own plane and pay the instructor.

I believe this should be in "Technical Tasks" -

But anyway:  I don't think you can use the MC-1 or MC-5 - (the ones with the reservoir on the MC) - for dual brakes.  The MC-4 or MC-4A with the separate reservoir can be interconnected for dual brakes.

EDMO

Edited by Ed In Missouri

Posted

How far along are you in your training?

Is your instructor requiring brakes or he is a no go?

Posted