Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Avid or early Kitfox

26 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi guys as you know I'm new to this and obsessed with these planes. I just sold a total project avid A.  I am looking for another one that is a little more structurally sound.   Looking for a good project.  Having a hard time making up my mind as all the planes I look in to eaither sold or are just out of budget right now.  Any recommendations?  I'm a new pilot and still very early in the process.  Just like the idea of tinkering on one while I learn.   I know I should be focusing on flight school but for some reason I can't get these plane out of my head.   Any of your guys advice would be greatly appreciated.  

Posted

May I ask why you sold the Avid project if your looking for a project? Was there something wrong with it? Or you just looking for something a little further along, There sure is alot of them out there,

Posted

If you are taking a step back and starting over, save your penneys for a Kitfox IV.  Either a 1050 or 1200; or a 582 or 912.  You will not be disappointed.  

Maybe a little more $ up front, but the payoff long term in performance is well worth it. 

Posted

May I ask why you sold the Avid project if your looking for a project? Was there something wrong with it? Or you just looking for something a little further along, There sure is alot of them out there,

What model Avid did you have, and why did you sell it - yes, I am nosey too!  EDMO

Posted

It was a model A.  Serial number 106.    All the wood was rotted.  Just to much time for me right now.   

IMG_1758.JPG

Posted

Looks like a real headstart on a plane that had already been built once - if the wing ribs were rotted all you needed was new ribs and covering.      EDMO

Posted

I know but I sold it to buy another one and the other sold the same day.  So now I'm plane less 

Posted

Here's another one I found with a vw in it.  Has over 100hrs with that motor and full logs etc. 

IMG_1875.JPG