Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Bush gear springs

9 posts in this topic

Posted

There has been a few discussions regarding springs,has anyone tried rubber donuts and washers like in a some nose gear I have seen.Any thoughts ,

Posted (edited)

There has been a few discussions regarding springs,has anyone tried rubber donuts and washers like in a some nose gear I have seen.Any thoughts ,

I had those on my Ercoupe on the mains, but I think they were combined with shock absorbers. I had a Kick-Ass strong Bush Gear on my Maule, made by Atlee Dodge, and it had Hydo-shocks. They make these for Pipers too.

EDMO

I would think that rubber would get very ridged in cold temperatures - almost solid - Maybe crack! - Never had my Coupe in Alaska, but there were some at Anchorage, but never saw any of them flying in the winter.

Edited by Ed In Missouri

Posted

I sent an email to Burl to see if he would develop something for us like the AOSS system for cubs.  If I was a chemical engineer I may be able to understand the polymer stuff, but I started doing research on the material used in the AOSS system and it made my head hurt.  If some one here is a chemical engineer and they wanted to come up with the proper stuff for me to pour into a can I could make the AOSS system for our planes really easy.. I just dont know the proper crosslinked super duper gee whizz polymer that Burl uses in the AOSS system.

:BC:

1 person likes this

Posted (edited)

The replacement parts for the rubber pucks on the Ercoupe was a stack of Belleville washers.

EDMO

Leni, Sorry to override your post about "CONTRIBUTIONS TO KEEP SITE GOING" and hope that everyone will send you a few bucks.

Edited by Ed In Missouri

Posted