Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Avid flyer speedwing butt rib questions?

9 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi everyone I just purchased a avid flyer speedwing model d. The plane is fully covered but the windshield still needs installed. Unfortunately there were no butt ribs when I purchased. Can anyone direct me on what material is used to make these butt ribs that mount permanently on the fuselage and the window gets riveted to? Or does it get screwed to it?

Thanks all,

Bill

Posted (edited)

Bill,

I'm not an Avid expert - Know more about Kitfoxes - On all of the Avids / Foxes except the Avid Magnum, the fuselage butt ribs are just a modified wing rib - The Magnum uses a fiberglass undercambered butt rib.   The rib has to be cut away so that the rear spar can swing and fold.   On most I have seen, the space between this rib and the rear spar crosstube is closed in with the same fabric as on the plane.

Although some instructions say to rivet the windshield / skylight, some have decided that 8-32 bolts with a rubber or nylon washer under the head may cause less cracking - the bolt holes should be drilled oversize by 1/8" to allow for expansion / contraction of the Lexan.   IMO, it is better to make the WS and Skylight in two separate pieces - I also like a dark tinted skylight for the sun and heat here in Missouri summers.

I am sure that dHolly (Doug) (A+ shows in Red on his posts) has a copy of the instruction for most planes - and you might find it in some of the Avid or Kitfox manuals on here or in Files and Forms section.

I might be able to post  a page of the Kitfox manual on here if you cant find what you need.

Hope this helps.

EDMO 

Edited by Ed In Missouri

Posted (edited)

Joey,

I tried the link, and also tried Files and Forms manual post, and still cant get it to read - Bill may have same problem?

My college computer student tried several times and all we come up with is a blank screen.

Looks like I am SOOL until something changes.

EDMO