Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Should I buy avid B? Novice. Help.

12 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi all. Complete (and I mean complete) newbie here. Apologies in advance. I am taking flying lessons and want a cheap top operate little hour builder. My homework led me to an Avid or kitfox.

Now, I have seen one for sale without a permit in my price range. Please could I get some comments on these questions. Thank you in advance.

1) it is serial number 180 something. Is this an Avid B?

2) it has a rotax 503 that has stood unstarted for around 6 to 7 years. Is this model of engine ok and reliable for a 2 stroke? Only 80 hours but will it need completely stripping and rebuilding desks etc due to being stood?

3) flaperons! I hear horror stories about these. As I am learning to fly then should I be worried about flaperons and associated lack of yaw authority? Also flaperons attachments I hear can come lose as wood can get wet and rot? Do they need to have drains? Do you need bother using the flaps

4) is an Avid Flyer ok to learn on or tricky. It is a tricycle by the way. Appreciate this is an avid kitfox forum but some good and bad views on the avid would be handy please.

5) given it has been stood in a barn for 6 ish years but was ok when last flown then what is likely to be needed to renew permit? Wiring checks for vermin perhaps? What should Obe checking that is obvious to you chaps?

Best wishes.

Wonderful forum you guys!!

Posted (edited)