Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Which is the Widest cockpit and useful load

14 posts in this topic

Posted

Wanted to know which fuselage or plane had the widest cockpit, also which has the biggest useful load. Thank you for any help

Posted

bushcat is 49.5

I also sat in a Murphy Rebel at Oshkosh and it was wide too I liked it

Posted

My Kitfox 4 is 43 1/2" wide.  That is 4" over stock.  I think the Merle Williams widening kit adds 5" on a Kitfox 4.  My useful load is about 550.  JImChuk

Posted

Thank you but I meant a kit fox or Avid flyer, and can you add to the useful load. Thank you all

Posted

First Avid and Kitfox were 36" wide.  Kitfox 2, 3, and 4 and Avid B, C, and MK IV are all 39 1/2" wide.  Useful load is hard to figure, cause depending on how it's built, and Kitfox 4 might weigh anywhere from maybe 550 and 800 pluss lbs.  My Kitfox 4 was 826 when I got it, and after complete rebuild, it weighed 645.  I have no first hand experience with newer model Kitfoxes, so will leave that to someone else.  JImChuk

2 people like this

Posted

Im not 100% sure how wide my KF5 is without going and measuring it but i think its like 42” wide?? But i do know it weighs 880lbs, 1550 gross, has 52 gallons on board, has the lycoming 0235/115hp. Burns 5 gallons an hr, and its for sale, Hahahahaaaa

Posted

Im not 100% sure how wide my KF5 is without going and measuring it but i think its like 42” wide?? But i do know it weighs 880lbs, 1550 gross, has 52 gallons on board, has the lycoming 0235/115hp. Burns 5 gallons an hr, and its for sale, Hahahahaaaa

So if i built a bigger wing the useful load would go up ?

Posted

NO, NO, NO.