My Avid MK Aerobatic Speedwing build advice

8 posts in this topic

Posted

I would like to ask the community a few question that I previously asked on the facebook site. I am an 18hr student pilot and am debating on whether my plane needs more reconfiguring, to make it more safe, before closing her up and hauling her to a training field. I have not flown the plane so I only have 3rd hand knowledge about the plane's flight characteristics/safety margin.

On the fb site, I have received some alarming feedback from a respected pilot and owner of a speedwing. Being that I am not interested in making too many life endangering mistake, I am looking for advice. Please note, I can fabricate or spend money if need be. 

For those that don't know, I have a Jabiru 2200, a 7 inch wider homemade TD landing gear, an 8" Matco Tailwheel, and I kept the plane as light and streamlined as possible for a reasonable speed envelope. I have the PC545 battery in the rearmost part of the plane. 

Now for the questions. I am an 18 hour (in a Cessna 152) student pilot. I plan on training, in my MKIV Aerobatic Speedwing, with a CFI to obtain a Sport Pilot license. 

Question 1: I have been told (from someone I respect that owns one) the Speedwing is from the devil as they can drop right out of lift when you may not expect it. Should I change the wing? I hate asking this question before flying the plane, but I am just looking for the opinions of more experienced pilots.

Question 2: Are the tail feathers adequate? I have heard they are, but again, looking for more opinions from the "experienced". Should I add length to the fuselage? I can weld 4130 tubing.

Question 3: I am in the US and will use non-ethanol Mogas (benzene + additives??). Should I mod my stock wing tank and other fuel system components?