Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Easy wire splices

6 posts in this topic

Posted

I found these while I was looking for some other things Garmin calls out in their install manual for G5's.  Very easy, very secure.  Heat shrink with a solder ring in the middle.  Overlap the wires under the solder ring, hit it with the right heat gun temperature, the heat shrink does its thing, the solder melts, and when it cools just a bit the connection is very secure.  No solder dripping in the wrong place, no chance of a soldering iron damaging other wires, crimpers not crimping strong enough, etc.

Available at Amazon aircraft supplies.

soldersleeves2-postable.jpg

3 people like this

Posted

I have been using those for a couple years now and they work great!  Boat, plane, trailers etc.  Have not had one break off or turn loose yet!

Posted

Those look interesting. Can you inspect the solder joint through the tubing? It's hard to tell from the picture of the box. I would be leery of any solder joint that I could not verify the quality of. If you can inspect the joint through the tubing sign me up! 

Posted

Yes, the heat shrink is clear except for the two color bands indicating the size.  Very easy to inspect.  Since the heat shrink shrinks first, it basically seals the area around the solder so when it melts it has nowhere to go but where it should be.  If you pulled on a wire while the heat shrink and solder were still soft you could mess it up, but I can't think of any other way.