Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Hi Everyone

9 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

Just wanted to introduce myself. 

My name is Gary. Had a Cessna Aerobat for 14 years before I sold it and bought my KF IV in 2000.  I have been flying it for 20 years now. It has a Rotax 912S, IVO Medium prop, and more often than not sits on top of Aerocet 1000 Amphib floats.  Last fall I took the fuse apart and pretty much rebuilt it.  I got it back in the air only a week ago.  It will go up on the floats again in June.  I will rebuilt the wings this winter...as I have the smaller fuel tanks and want to put in the larger ones.  I will never sell it, as nothing else IMHO can provide so much affordable fun. 

I live in the Muskoka region of Ontario, about an hour and a half north of Toronto.  I moved up here a couple of years ago and took a job with Orillia Aviation Aviation as a bit of a retirement plan.  I have thousands of lakes to land my Kitfox on, and when not flying it I get to talk airplanes all day long with customers who also fly on floats.  Our airport was bought a couple of years back by a developer out of Toronto, and the renovations have been extensive. New maintenance facility, 30 new hangers, longer runway, a water aerodrome, 2 charter companies serving 5 outpost camps, a restaurant you can take your wife to, a paint shop, a flight school and a marina that has been turned into a water aerodrome.  When not flying the KF I get to do ferry flights in customer aircraft or one of our 14 float planes, including 3 piston Beavers.  Doubt I will ever get to fly the Turbo Beaver..but hey..over the winter I get to fire it up once a month to keep it serviced.  I am truly blessed.  If you are ever in the area...once travel bans are lifted of course, please look me up.