Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

DAVE JOHNSON EA-81 WITH REDRIVE EBAY

16 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

I found an EA-81 on ebay just as it ended.   Low hours with belt redrive.  No bids at $1900, or buy-it-now at $2500.   $150 shipping to 48 or pick up in Georgia.  I wrote the guy and told him I would post it on here if he was going to relist on ebay - waiting for an answer - If I get one, I will post here.  This one is not Black...

This one has the starter pointed forward - Mine is to rear of belt drive and fits cowl better - this can be changed.

Reiner Hoffman had some Stratus mounts for sale recently - I can find him too.

EDMO

Edited by Ed In Missouri

Posted (edited)

4 July SELLER RELISTED THIS ebay # 231 613 226 542 But ad now says no shipping ?

Last ad said shipping to 48.

200 hrs Since O/H

EDMO

Edited by Ed In Missouri

Posted

Seems to be a reasonable price...but I'm still a noob

Posted (edited)

As a comparison, Stratus EA-81 w/redrive is about $10,000.   Some redrives alone are from $3500 to $4500.

I paid $2600 for a Dave Johnson engine with redrive and 75 hours SMOH about 12 years ago.

I don't know what RAM now charges.

I wont even talk about Eggenfeldner engines - don't like them at all.

This is a good price for a low hour engine that should be good for 300,000 miles or more in a car, or 1500 to 2000 hours or more in a plane before needing any work, and parts or overhauls are very cheap.

Joey has an NSI engine, but don't know what he wants for it.

I have a spare stock engine with 31,000 original miles on it - I paid $1000 for it in Alaska.

EDMo

Edited by Ed In Missouri

Posted

The only soob I have any exposure to was a Avid I was considering before I bought my KF. I didn't like what the owner had to say about the W&B and then he wouldn't send a copy of it to me. After hearing stories about his experience and escapades, I wanted to have nothing to do with it.

Lou

Posted (edited)