Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

First flight as a KC-10 Crewmember

14 posts in this topic

Posted

Hey guys! As many of you know I am an active duty Air Force Enlisted Aviator. From 99-05 I was a KC-135 Boom Operator. In 2005 the Airforce decided I needed to be a Flight Engineer and I ended up on C-5's. There's a pretty big difference between the Air Refueling and Airlift mission. I recently had the opportunity to become a KC-10 Flight Engineer. Yesterday I took my first familiarization flight as I start the next 8 months of training. I forgot how awesome it was refueling fighters over snow capped mountains so I thought I would share a few of the pics I grabbed yesterday.

1505554_10153474590354409_21595002296489

The KC-10 can be a tanker or a receiver. We helped out some of our brothers for some training while waiting for the next flight of F-15's to show up.

10922722_10153474589799409_9018211208321

Waiting for his gas

10442518_10153474590119409_6451870971864

They fly pretty tight off of us while waiting

1618500_10153474589714409_55525512220566

Ended the day with a spectacular sunset off the Oregon Coast

10438909_10153474590674409_1243393151390

I am super fortunate to be able to do this for a living.

4 people like this

Posted

Wow thats some pretty cool pictures,good luck up there

Posted

Way cool pics Joey, how different is your desk?

Posted

Wow.  That's awesome Joey!

First, and most importantly, THANK YOU! for your service it is so greatly appreciated.

Second those are some beautiful shots.  Anytime you want to show more, we'll take 'em!

Posted

Way cool pics Joey, how different is your desk?