Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Simonini Victor 2

26 posts in this topic

Posted

For $10k you can get a real nice, low time, 912.

There is a number of two stroke manufacturers out there chasing the Rotax goliath (Hirth, Simon, Compact Radial, etc).  In my (very active) EAA chapter I've seen several of these "off brand" (meaning no disrespect, just the anyone-but-Rotax fare) installed, ran, fixed, tinkered, crashed and finally re-engined with Rotax.

There's a reason Rotax is #1 in small, light, aviation engines.

Posted (edited)

GM and Ford were the goliaths of the automobile market until Honda, Toyota, and Datsun came along with better quality cars.... :stirthepot:

One of the guys who used to post over on the BackCountryPilot.org forum ran the Simonini Victor 2 on a CH-701 STOL homebuilt. He told me that it was a significant improvement over the Rotax he replaced with it.

But... I have no personal experience with either of these engines.

Edited by EZFlap

Posted

I don't think that Toyota, Honda or Datsun made better cars - Their governments subsidized them to make them cheaper than U.S. cars, and they could bribe the car magazines to make good reports on their cars, just like the Japanese did with the steel industries.

Meanwhile, our $$$$ and jobs went to their countries.

EDMO

Posted

Toyota definitely makes a better car.. fit and finish as well as running gear lasts a lot longer than most ford or gm products... same with truck.. and it's not cheaper than the big 2, just better over all.

First hand info trumps thoughts n speculation. A 90+ hp engine that's only marginally more expensive than a 582 does not sound too bad. Not everyone wants a 912 and the headaches that a 912 can pose as well.

:BC:

Posted (edited)

I'm a lot more angry about the imports than most, since I lost the job I had for 27 years because of foreign cars- cant help that.