History of the Avid

24 posts in this topic

Posted

Info related to the History of Avid.

By John Larsen

How the Mk IV and the Pursang, aka Avid Mk V came to be.
My association with Avid Aircraft began in the fall of 1989. I was a freelance author and went to Avid with the proposition that if they would give me a discount price on an Avid flyer, I would write up a series of ‘How-To’ articles for Kitplanes Magazine on how to build the plane. I had 20 years of experience writing for national publications at that time, so the agreement was made. I had pioneered the photo illustrated ‘How-To’ article style when I was contributing editor for four different motorcycle magazines in the 1970-80’s. I had worked as an engineer for Boeing in Seattle and soloed as a private pilot in1980 so was ready and willing to take on the building of the Avid. Avid liked the article series that was published in 1990-91 and when it was finished, they hired me to do R&D and re-write the Avid construction manual.
The factory was manufacturing the model D at that time, which suffered from an overheating problem. There were many upgrades from Model A to Model D, but power plant problems were persistent with the C&D models. The problem came about with the Avid the Model A as it was powered by a air cooled Cuyuna engine with a planetary re-drive turning the prop which proved unreliable.